Skip to Content

Short Film Competition Jury

  • Azza Chaabouni

    Azza Chaabouni

    Azza Chaabouni is a Tunisian teacher-researcher, editor, independent film programmer. She studied cinema in Cinecittà-Rome. She pursued a Master degree in Social and Cultural Anthropology. She serves as an expert and consultant on film projects and for cultural organizations.

    From 2014 to 2019, she developed and led TAKMILworkshop within the framework of Carthage Film Festival. From 2018 to 2020, she was responsible for Ciné Par’Court, a short film production program for Talents based in Tunisia. In 2020, she initiated MedFilm Works in Progress andMedFilm Talents part of MedFilm Festival professional platform. 

    She teaches cinema and visual anthropology at the Higher Institute of Applied Studies in Humanities-Kef in Tunis. She is also responsible of TATWIR, a new development program for creative documentary initiated by Doc House-Tunisia.

  • Insa Wiese

    Insa Wiese

    Insa Wiese was born in 1978 in Frisia, the Netherlands. She studied art and German Language and Literature in Oldenburg, where she discovered her love for film - especially short film. She made her own short films and organized the short film festival zwergWERK in Oldenburg. After gaining experience at the Hamburg Short Film Festival for a few years, she took over the direction of the Regensburg Short Film Week in 2009. She has also been working at the festival UNDERDOX since 2016. In addition to occasional teaching assignments and seminars at the University of Regensburg and the University of Television and Film Munich, she is the curator of various series and programs. Since 2016 she has been on the board of the Association of Bavarian Film Festivals and since 2019 she has been running the podcast SIMPLY SHORT!. 

  • Sidar Serdar Karakaş

    Sidar Serdar Karakaş

    Born in Diyarbakir in 1983. He studied history and cinema. He was the president of Antalya Cinema Association for six years. He is one of the creators and executives of the "Top 10 Short Films" and "Top 10 Animated Short Films" projects realized within the association. He is the director of the Top Shorts Short Film Festival, which has 110 juries. He has two books titled The Story of the Short Film - 1 and the Story of the Short Film - 2 telling the production stories of the short films and short film directors in which he compiled together with Yelda Başaran. He has been the founding chairman of the Short Film Directors Association since 2018.